Wo Long: Fallen Dynasty: Armor and stats guide

Wo Long: Fallen Dynasty is a challenging game full of challenging enemies. One way to even out the playing field is to be well-equipped for the fights. Equipping the right armor with the right stats can make a world of difference. 

Like Team Ninja’s previous souls-like series, Nioh, the Wo Long: Fallen Dynasty loot system gives players a whole bunch of armor sets and weapons, most of them being the same piece of gear with slightly different stats.

This guide will help players understand the intricacies of everything to do with armor so they can be better prepared for some of the daunting foes they will encounter. 

Armor pieces and types 

Players can equip four pieces of armor: Helmets for the head, Chest armor for the abdomen, Bracelets for the arms, and Footwear for the legs. Each of these offers different levels of defense. For example, chest armor will typically offer more defense than a helmet. 

Armors come in three distinct types: Light armor, Medium Armor, and Heavy armor. Light armor offers less defense, but in turn, gives players the freedom of movement and speed. Heavy armor offers the most defense out of the three types, but limits movement speed significantly. Medium armor offers the best of both worlds.

While it doesn’t offer the speed of Light armor and the defense of Heavy armor it doesn’t have the limitations of either of the two either and is probably the best option for new players to the souls-like genre. 

Players can know which category a piece of armor falls under by looking at the helmet icon that lies to the bottom left of the armor image in the inventory.

The said armor piece will fall under the category of Light armor if there is one bar under the helmet icon, Medium armor if there are two bars, and Heavy armor if there are three.

This is not to be confused with the equipment weight of an armor piece which contributes to the total weight of the player’s loadout. That only affects the encumbrance (which in turn affects things like dodging, deflecting, and spirit consumption)

Also Read: Diablo 4: Everything in the open beta and exclusive rewards

Armor rarity

Armors come in five tiers of rarity which can be determined by the number of stars above the armor name. Simply put, the higher the rarity the higher chance of the armor piece having better stats and special effects. The five levels of rarity are: 

  • Common (White) – 1 star 
  • Rare (Blue) – 2 stars 
  • Epic (Purple) – 3 stars 
  • Legendary (Gold) – 4 stars
  • Mythic (Light Blue)  – 5 stars

Armor stats 

Stats can be tricky to understand at first but simple once you figure out what they mean. 

There are three main defense stats: Defense, Physical Resistance, and Spirit Defense. The defense stat determines how much HP is not lost when the player gets hit.

Physical resistance determines how much of the enemy’s physical damage is received by the player. Spirit Defense affects the quantity of spirit lost when the player is hit by an enemy. 

Then there is the Resistance graph. It is a very important stat players must pay attention to. It determines the resistance to elemental damage dealt by enemies.

The higher the resistance towards one of the five virtues, the lesser damage the player will receive from that elemental damage of that nature. For example, a higher fire resistance will reduce damage received by fire, and a high wood resistance will reduce the accumulation of a shock status effect. 

Special effects and set bonuses

Special effects are extra bonuses that can be attained by wearing the armor piece. These are vital for making powerful builds in the game. The special effects can offer anything from increasing spirit sustainability to decreasing the cost of spells.

Set bonuses are Special Effects obtained by wearing the matching pieces of armor. The higher number of matching armor pieces equipped, the more set bonuses the player will receive.

More from The Game Raven